HAS publishes new ESSMS evaluation procedure

Since the adoption of the law of January 2, 2002 on the renewal of social and medico-social activities, about 40,000 social and medico-social institutions and services (ESSMS) providing support to the elderly, people with disabilities, protected children and people in critical difficult situation or suffering from addictions are obliged to regularly evaluate their activities and the quality of the services provided. The Law of 24 July 2019 on the Organization and Transformation of the Health System assigned the Higher Health Authority (HAS) the mission of developing a new national procedure for evaluating these institutions and services.

After more than 2 years of working with all social and health care players, HAS published on March 10, 2022 their National Assessment Reference System, common to all ESSMS, with the objectives and criteria described in the accompanying guide. The purpose of this frame of reference is to provide quality support to each person with an appropriate response to the expression of his desires, his needs and his projects.

What does the ESSMS quality assessment system contain?

The assessment framework developed by HAS consists of three chapters: people, professionals, ESSMS. These chapters are organized around nine topics. Know :

  • Welfare and ethics
  • Rights of an accompanying person
  • Self-expression and participation of the accompanying person
  • Collaborative construction and project personalization support
  • Autonomy support
  • Health Support
  • Continuity and fluidity of courses
  • Personnel policy
  • Approach to quality and risk management

In total, the reference system includes 42 goals, divided into 157 evaluation criteria. For each of the criteria, the scope of its application, the level of requirements, its elements of assessment (interviews, documentary consultations, observations) and the corresponding references are indicated. The Help System offers general criteria (126) common to all ESSMS and specific criteria (31) applicable depending on the sector of activity, type of structure or supported public.

The reference scoring system is intended to be used:

  • ESSMS for self-assessment;
  • Evaluation bodies as a reference tool during the evaluation visit.
  • The application areas associated with the different criteria of the reference system allow “to adapt the reference system to the diversity of the social and medical-social sphere,” HAS says.

What about after the evaluation?

Conducted every 5 years, compared to 7 years previously, each assessment will be the subject of a report whose format, established by HAS, presents results by chapter and according to criteria set by the assessors. “The rhythm of the assessment every 5 years is important for ESSMS and their specialists, as it corresponds, in particular, to the rhythm of the institution’s project,” explains the Higher Health Authority. This makes it possible to review practices and organizations more regularly for the benefit of the people accepted.”

The evaluation report is intended for wide distribution. Therefore, the evaluation results must always be communicated to the pricing and control authority as well as to HAS. The ESSMS must also ensure the widest possible internal dissemination of the evaluation report and, in particular, bring it to the attention of the deliberative body, the staff representation body and the Council for Social Life (CVS). Finally, “for greater transparency”, the legislator also wanted the results of the assessments to be made public in accordance with procedures to be determined by decree.

“As a reminder, ESSMS quality assessments are not inspection or verification missions or compliance checks,” HAS insists.

Leave a Comment